The "Saved filters" feature lets you save frequently used or complex search queries and reuse them later with a single click.
You can also use public filter templates created by other users or share and assign your own filters to others.
In a module's main view, you'll find the "Saved filters" group on the left:
saved filters in the filter section of the Files module
What types of saved filters are there?
The "Saved filters" group can display different types of filters:
Own filter: A filter that you created and saved yourself.
Filter from a filter template: A personal copy of a public filter template. You can customize the copy without changing the original.
Assigned filter: A filter that another user has assigned to you or your role.
The filters displayed may have different icons:
|
|
|
|
|
|
Hover your mouse directly over a filter icon to display additional information about the filter in the tooltip:
Create and save filters
To save a new filter, first perform the desired search:
Open a module with "Saved filters", such as Files or Collections.
Check whether any search filters are already active. Also take into account any active selection in the folder structure. Reset any existing filters to avoid incorrect results.
Perform your search in the search filter area. You can combine the search fields and, if available, the folder structure. The results list will be displayed immediately.
In the "Saved filters" panel, click the "Save current filters" button
.
Alternatively, you can use Ctrl + S (Windows) or CMD + S (macOS).A pop-up window will open. Enter a name and, if desired, a description. Here, you can also optionally share the filter or assign it to users and roles.
Click "Save filter".
The filter will be saved with all the search criteria used and displayed directly under "Saved filters".
filter properties with options for saving and sharing
Tip
You can also use folders from the folder structure as search filters. The selected folders and their contents are then included as part of the search.
Apply saved filters
Here's how to apply your saved filters directly:
Open a module that includes the "Saved filters" feature.
Check whether any search filters or folder selections are already active, and reset them if necessary.
Click the name or checkbox of a saved filter.
The filtered results are displayed directly in the results list.
You can combine a saved filter with additional search fields, the folder structure, or other saved filters. The criteria are applied as an "AND" operation.
Click the checkbox again to deactivate a saved filter.
Please note
When a saved filter is active, the saved search criteria are applied in the background. The corresponding search fields therefore remain empty.
This allows you to add additional search criteria and further narrow down the results.
Edit or delete saved filters
Hover your mouse over a filter to display the three-dot menu
on the right. Click it to see the available actions:
Use the "Edit" button
to customize your own filter, such as its name, description, or sharing options.Use the "Delete" button
to remove a filter.
When deleting a filter, the behavior depends on who owns it:
You can delete a filter you created.
If you imported a filter from the filter templates, deleting it will only remove it from your personal "Saved filters" list.
You cannot delete an assigned filter without the appropriate advanced permissions.
Use public filter templates
Public filter templates are filters that other users have made available system-wide. You can add a template and use it as your own copy.
Open a module using the "Saved filters" feature.
In the "Saved filters" group, click the "Add filter templates" button
.A pop-up window opens. Search or filter the list for filter templates.
Select one or more filter templates using the checkboxes and click "Add selection".
A separate pop-up window opens for each filter. Review the filter properties for each selected filter. You can customize the name, description, or sharing options for your personal copy.
Click "Save filter".
The filters will then appear directly under "Saved filters".
list of public filter templates with descriptions and owners
Please note
Changes you make to your copied version do not affect the original filter.
Only the owner can edit or delete the shared filter template.
Your own filters do not appear in the list of public filter templates.
Sharing saved filters
Shared filters allow you to ensure that your team uses the same search parameters and gets identical results.
You can make your filter available to others in two different ways:
Share as a filter template: Your filter will be made available in the public filter templates. Other users can copy it from there to create their own version.
Assign to users or roles: The filter appears directly in the "Saved filters" section for the selected users or roles.
You can use both options at the same time and specify them either when you first save the filter or later via the filter settings.
Share filters as a template
Save a new search or open the settings for one of your saved filters via the three-dot menu
.Under "General information", enable the "Share as filter template" option.
Click "Save filter".
The filter will then be available in the public filter templates. Other users can add it from there to their personal "Saved filters".
You can revoke sharing later via the filter settings.
Assign filters to users or roles
Save a new search or open the settings for one of your saved filters via the three-dot menu
.Switch to the "Share filter" tab at the top.
Click the "Link" button
or, via the three-dot menu, the "Add" button
to add users (top) or roles (bottom).A pop-up will open. Select the desired users or roles using the checkboxes.
Click "Add selection".
In the next step, specify whether the selected users or roles should receive advanced permissions:
Edit: Change the filter’s name and description
Delete: Delete the filter for all users
Assign rights: Share the filter with yourself or assign it to other users or roles
Click "Save filter".
The filter automatically appears with the icon
in the "Saved filters" section for the selected users or roles.
You can remove these assignments later via the filter settings.
assigning a search filter to a user and a role without advanced permissions
Please note
When you assign a filter, no automatic notification is sent to the selected users.
If the owner deletes an assigned filter, it will also disappear for all users to whom it was assigned.
➡️ Next Steps
💡Frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Can other users change my filters?
Only for assigned filters and if you grant them the appropriate permissions – by default, this is not the case.
Can I modify a filter template after adding it?
Yes. After adding a filter template to your "Saved filters", you can customize your copy. The original filter template remains unchanged.
Why can’t I save a filter?
To enable the "Save current filters" option, you must first perform a search using at least one search filter.







